The ISA New Orleans Section serves the New Orleans Metropolitan Area, which includes Orleans Parish, Jefferson Parish, St. Tammany Parish, St. Charles Parish, St. John Parish, Plaquemines Parish, and other surrounding parishes.

Our primary mission is to:

  • Serve both members and non-members by providing high quality professional development opportunities
  • Reach out to other entities (industry, academia, STEM programs) to increase their awareness of automation applications and to encourage automation as a profession

Our History

ISA New Orleans Section was organized shortly after World War II. Mr. Horace Thompson is believed to be the first ISA New Orleans Section President.  He and a group of friends organized and applied for the Section Charter, which became effective April 11, 1946.

For over 70 years, the section has been active in the New Orleans Metropolitan Area.  Over the years, the Section Membership and Leadership has included representatives of industry  (principally oil & gas, petrochemical, forest products, food & beverage, aerospace, and electric utilities) and those serving those industries in sales & marketing, consulting engineering, and education.

Membership has varied over the years, based primarily upon the state of the local economy, and it peaked at almost 600 during the “boom” in the oil & gas industry in the late 1970s to early 1990s.

The New Orleans Section has supplied significant leadership to the International Society, including numerous District 7 and Division officers and three Society presidents (David N. Bishop, Robert M. Baillet, and Hugh N. Roser).  The Section has served as hosts to numerous Division Symposia and three times to the Society Annual Conference and Exhibit.  Bob Hallman, was elected ISA New Orleans Section President, but was transferred to Lafayette, LA, by his employer before he could take office.  Subsequently, Bob was instrumental in forming the ISA Lafayette Section and served as the first president of the ISA Lafayette Section.

The ISA New Orleans Section is a distinguished community of outstanding individuals.

Section Leaders

Past Presidents

Award Recipients